Why I love math

A worditout creation

A worditout creation

I’ve gotten several responses to my love of math, most of them consisted of astonishment, disbelief and then usually disagreement. I feel ya. I too, used to be a skeptic in the world of math…but then…I met my match: Saxon Algebra II. (collective groan, and an excited giggle from moi…)

Finally, a math book explained how things worked and why they did! Finally, a math book repeated the same problems for lessons later! Many people will turn at me and say “are we talking about the same book?” Perhaps I put too much emphasis on the book, however helpful. I think the true reason for this sudden change of heart rests in a realization of what math actually is.

Math is a gift from God. A gift that gives us a glimpse of the perfection and logic of Himself. Just as 2+2 will always equal 4, so will Christ be the same forever.

“Jesus is the same yesterday and today and forever.” ~Hebrews 13:8

And yet, at the same time, we do not understand the extent of math and how everything works. It is the same with God. Some things we can grasp, but since our reason is limited…we do not understand the extent of His majesty, power, and grace.

“God’s voice thunders in marvelous ways; he does great things beyond our understanding. Job 37:5

Another similarity I can pull out of all this is the reality of absolute truth. Yes, Jesus will always be the same, but it is also truth that all men are born into sin. This is a truth that is not regionally specific, racially divided, or only a problem of certain generations. No, there is absolute truth, just as there is 2+2.

God has given us a gift he did not give to any other creation: the ability to think, rationalize and problem-solve. What should we do with that gift? Reverting it to a school-only activity confined to dry textbooks surely contributes to the mass dislike of this gift. I hope my generation, or some generation in the future will find a way to give everyone a sense of the wonder that math possesses and a realization of just how important math is.

Much love,

signature

2 thoughts on “Why I love math

  1. Wonderful Post! I love math as well (to a certain degree 🙂 It’s so satisfing to work hard, using logic, and then get the problem right. Plus, the absolutism that is so evident in the problems really shows the issue of relativism. God bless you! ~Adelina

Leave a comment