Life lately

English: Pumpkins

English: Pumpkins (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hi guys.

I cannot believe it has been a month since I was SUPPOSED to write my last post about television.  It was one of the craziest, most exciting months I’ve had in a long time. Allow me to expand.

So, the TV post was scheduled for October 17th. That was the day after my grandparents left our house after a week-long stay. I’m blessed with amazing grandparents who strengthen me in my faith and encourage me in what I love to do, so it’s always a pleasure seeing them. I had also taken the PSAT the day before at a local high school. I can’t describe how much fun it is, and how hysterical it is to see fellow high-schoolers’ reactions, and especially the teachers, when I tell them I’m homeschooled. To die for.

The following week, I was sick for a bit and then had a few parties over the weekend to kick in the autumn season. Halloween came around the corner quickly enough as well, which was an absolute blast. I went with my youth group to the local pumpkin patch/harvest festival place for a costume party, for which I dressed up as a person struck by lightning. By then, it was November already! Sickness took me down a couple of times and just all-around craziness has kept me out of the blogging sphere. Sometimes it’s nice to take a break, though.

My broken foot has healed quite nicely, thank God, and I should be back into ballet rehearsals in January. It was tough getting around for the two months I was on crutches, but it was also a great time to get back into school and get a teenage club started in my community with the goal to positively impact the political processes around us. We’ve had an information meeting and one regular meeting so far, and I think it’s going well. I was voted president and I have a great cabinet to aid me in spreading the club.

My family officially joined a church that is about five minutes away from our house. I love the church, and I’m proud to say I had a big say in persuading my family to visit there. I’ve made several wonderful friends and gotten to know the pastors a bit. Before regularly attending this church, I didn’t fully comprehend the meaning and function of a church. I knew that extra programs like AWANA and youth group weren’t the most important things, and I actually disliked that fact. I wanted kid programs to be front and center, important, and top-knotch. I realize now that it is far more important to search deeply into the Scriptures, gain long-lasting relationships with brothers and sisters in Christ, and serve alongside others with a common goal: to glorify God. The Psalmist’s comparison of the church to a bride makes so much more sense to me now, because when a church functions as it is called to, it is beautiful, beaming, and a pristine white picture of our relationship to Christ.

Other than that, normal life has proceeded like usual. Hopefully I can jump back into regular posts here at Dance to Life.

Thanks for stopping by for a glimpse into my craziness.

signature

2 thoughts on “Life lately

  1. Been missing your cheery voice, Hannah! So good to hear that your foot has healed well.
    And on the subject of churches – I’ve been reading/studying Josh Harris’s Stop Dating the Church! : Fall in Love With the Family of God.
    Looking forward to hearing more from you!
    Blessings,
    Rhoda

    • Oh thanks! I’ve missed writing! Thanks; I’m so grateful there hasn’t been any complications. Oh, that book sounds wonderful! I’ll have to check it out. I love the Harris brothers’ books.
      God bless!

Leave a Reply

