Give Credit Where Credit is Due

“It is the Holy Spirit who is causing you to persevere. In those times when you are lazy and have no enthusiasm for any Spiritual Discipline, or when you haven’t practiced a particular Discipline as you habitually do, it is the Holy Spirit who prompts you to pick it up in spite of your feelings. Left to yourself you would have forsaken these means of sustaining grace long ago, but the Holy Spirit preserves you by granting to you the grace to persevere in them.” ~Donald Whitney

Oh those moments of de-motivation. Those moments when I decide to look at de-motivational memes, thinking that will somehow make me feel more motivated to do whatever it is I think is important to do. Oh, woe is me. I’m such a loser. And then! Boom! The Holy Spirit ascends on me and Kapow! I am enlightened to the fact that I do not know what is important! And I suddenly have the motivation to the thing that really is important. Ah, this is the moment of truth. Do I give glory to God for continually being there for me? Or do I take the credit for my sudden increase in motivation, because that somehow will bring me more gratification? Unfortunately, my response is usually the latter. Which is probably the worst and most ungrateful thing to ever do after the Holy Spirit has so blessed me. And yet, I continue to repeat my same mistakes!

“How precious is your steadfast love, O God! The children of mankind take refuge in the shadow of your wings, and they feast on the abundance of your house. You give them drink from the river of your delights. For in your light do we see light. Oh, continue your steadfast love to those who know you, and your righteousness to the upright of heart! ~Psalm 36:7-10” (ESV)
2 thoughts on “Give Credit Where Credit is Due

Leave a Reply

