Modern Conveniences-Built for Laziness

As I was unloading the dishwasher tonight, I realized how amazing our machine was. I put nasty dishes in, and got steamy, sterilized dishes out. I remarked, “Wow, our dishwasher s amazing. Now I don’t have to rinse the dishes as well.” Wait…what did I just say?

As I saw how efficient our dishwasher was, I gave my self license to be lazy. After that, I realized that a lot of modern conveniences not only spare us from work, but encourage less work. After all, if a machine is going to do a job, why even attempt?

This thought troubled me. As a society, we should be improving by leaps and bounds as a result of our amazing technology. But instead, our world continues at the same pace, not improving, but not getting worse. Pretty ho-hum. However, as our knowledge of technological capabilities grows, the actual work of mankind is decreasing and the average laziness level increasing.

Don’t get me wrong here; I don’t think everyone should revert back to hand-washing and library drawers, but I do think that all of us need to work to the glory of God.

For me, this means having the attitude that I am working hard to His glory-and using the tools He has given (such as the dishwasher) to go above and beyond expectations. Isn’t that part of the American spirit? Busting expectations out of the water and surprising the

world with American ingenuity.

I hope my generation does just that.

signature

6 thoughts on “Modern Conveniences-Built for Laziness

  1. Good luck with that last sentence. Our generation is the laziest ever, I would say. I mean, can you explain the use of texting language on the Internet any other way?

    • I know it…But I’m trying to convince myself to think positively about our generation. I don’t think we’re as bad as the teens in the 20s, though. They were…a mess. (I didn’t even get to that part of the 20s in my forever-long presentation at CC haha!)
      As always, thanks for stopping by to read 🙂

  2. Hi Hannah! I was introduced to your blog thanks to The Rebelution. I really like the things you’ve posted so far. 🙂 Keep up the great work! I’ll be coming back for more!
    Kami

Leave a Reply

